This past April 21 saw the one-year anniversary of famed singer Prince’s death. To commemorate his impacting legacy on pop culture, Rogue Music Alliance announced a release date for a six-track EP containing unreleased, never-before-heard songs recorded between 2006 and 2008. The album – titled Deliverance – was scheduled to drop on Friday the 21st.

In a press release, the label company said the following about the album: “The songs were written and recorded when Prince was an independent artist, protesting what he saw as an unjust music industry. In the spirit of that independence, and in supporting Prince’s opinion of major label contracts, Deliverance is being released independently via RMA.”

The album was released on streaming services Tuesday night the 18th for preorder, but less than 24 hours later it was suddenly and inexplicably pulled from such services as Apple Music, iTunes, and Google Play.

It was reported on that same day that Paisley Park, Prince’s estate, was suing the man who co-produced the songs and completed them after Prince’s death – Ian Boxill. Despite Boxill claiming that a majority of all profits and revenue from the album would go to the estate, the plaintiffs accused him of “trying to exploit one or more songs for his personal gain at expense of the Prince Estate.”

The lawsuit also revealed that an agreement had been signed by Boxill that any recordings he did with the famed artist “would remain Prince’s sole and exclusive property,” and he “would not use any recordings or property in any way whatsoever.”

The album will still be released on June 2 nation-wide and is available now for pre-order on Amazon, but its release will be limited to the United States only.

Be sure to SHARE this article with your friends to show them how much you admired the legendary artist!